How can we help?

Home > User Guides > Instructor Guides > Turnitin Classic (Deprecated) > Managing Students

Managing Students

The student list page allows an instructor to access the class portfolio (a collection of submissions, Similarity Reports, peer reviews, and marked papers for the class) for each student, drop or add students, block students from accessing the class, or contact the list of students individually or via Email. 

 

1. To access the assignment inbox, click the All Classes tab, which will direct you to the Instructor homepage.

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 11.44.06 AM.png

 

2. From the Instructor homepage, click on the class name of the student list you wish to access. You will be directed to the class homepage

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 11.44.18 AM.png

 

3. From the Class homepage, the student list for a class is gained by clicking the students tab on the tab column.

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 9.44.24 AM.png

Student Page Features

 

The features of the student home page include:

Viewing a Student Class Portfolio

 

1. Click on the name of a student to visit the class portfolio for the student.

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 9.45.30 AM.png

Emailing a Student

 

1. Click on the Email address of any student to open a mail window in your default Email program.

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 10.57.42 AM.png

 

Emailing all students

 

1. Click the e-mail all students link to compose and send an e-mail to all students in the class.

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 11.11.44 AM.png

Locking and Unlock Students

 

Students can be locked or unlocked from a class once they have logged into Turnitin with their user profile.

 

1. Click the lock icon to toggle the student from unlocked (lock not closed) to locked (lock closed with red background) if needed.

 

2. When changing the lock status, a dialog box will pop up asking you to confirm this change. Click OK to continue, or Cancel to abort.

 

Note: When a student is locked, the student profile can no longer access the class.

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 11.13.01 AM.png

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 11.15.26 AM.png

Removing a Student

 

1. Click the drop icon to the right of the student Email address to remove the student from a class. Accidentally dropped students may be re-added manually, but must be added under the same Email address to regain access to the previous submissions that were made. 

 

Warning: Students should be dropped from a class only if you are absolutely certain that the student user profile and its submissions are no longer needed. Dropped students cannot re-add themselves to the class even with the class ID and enrollment password

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 11.18.23 AM.png

You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

(not set)