There are two preference types available to Turnitin instructors - user preferences and class preferences. User preferences apply to the instructor’s user profile, including default login views.
Class preferences are specific to each class, and apply only within the class to the assignments and student users in the class.
An instructor can view the current user preferences by clicking on the User Info tab.
The user preferences available are:
Note: If any changes were made to the user profile, the instructor must click on the Submit button at the bottom of the page to save the changes.
The class preference page allows an instructor to control the products and features available for the class. This allows an instructor to determine whether students can post proposed discussion topics, or whether or not GradeMark or other products are available in a class. An instructor can also set a class homepage link which is visible to both students and the instructor on the class homepage and other class pages.
To open the preferences page for a class, click the preferences tab on the class bar.
Each class has two preference types available to the instructors. There are general preferences and products that have been enabled. Only services purchased by the instructor’s institution are available under the enable these products: preference menu. Products that are not available will be greyed out and cannot be checked or un-checked.
To enable or disable a preference, click the check box to the left of the selected preference or product. Un-checked products or preferences are disabled in the specified class. For more information on the products, please see the appropriate chapter of this manual for the product or feature.
Enable These Products:
If any changes are made to the class preferences, the instructor must click on the submit button at the bottom of the preferences page to save the changes that have been made.
Important announcements and messages can be viewed by clicking on the messages tab on the system bar.
Note: Urgent notifications including announcements of scheduled downtimes for improvements to Turnitin will appear both on the messages page and on the user homepages for all users, including instructors.