Manuals, Tutorials, and More

Home > iThenticate > iThenticate Administrator User Guide

iThenticate Administrator User Guide

This guide is for iThenticate users who are account administrators. An account administrator has access to the Manage Users main navigation tab which specifically deals with managing users within an account, creating reporting groups, viewing usage reports, and controlling sharing between users.


 

The Manage Users area contains five tabs: Profiles, Groups, Reports, Sharing, and Email.

 

Profiles Tab

The Profiles content tab allows account administrators to add new users, edit current user information, resend activation emails to users, deactivate or delete current users from the account. It also contains a list of the users associated with your account.

 

Adding Users to an Account

Within the Profiles tab, select Add New User from the Add User menu.


 

This will open the User Information form. Enter the new user's name and email in the relevant fields.

 

 

You can assign a reporting group to a user using the Reporting Group drop-down. 


 

 

Select a time zone and a language. The language you select will be the language that the user interface and welcome email for the new user will be in.

 


 

You have the option to upload an image to be attributed to the user. Select the Choose File button to open a file browser and select an image file from your device.

 

 

The User Permissions section of the form will allow you to set restrictions on what the new user will be able to do. You will be able to set whether or not this user will be able to submit documents or only be a reader of shared documents, whether this user will be able to select a reporting group to assign documents to when uploading and whether this user will be able to share their folders with other users.

 

 

You will also be able to set whether this user can update their profile information and whether you would like to make this user an account administrator.

 

You have the option to add a phone and/ or fax number to the user information in the Contact Information section of the form.

 

 

Select Create to add the user to the iThenticate account.

 

Uploading a user list

Within the Profiles tab, select Upload User List from the Add User menu.

 

 

For an example of properly formatted user list files click on the examples link on the Upload User List page


 

Select Browse and locate the file containing the list of users on your computer. Click Upload to upload the list 

 

Once the file has been uploaded a list of the uploaded users will be displayed. Select the View profile link to adjust the user settings for each user uploaded within the user list.

Edit a User's Information

To edit a user's information, select the Edit button to the right of the user's email.

 

 

From here an admin will be able to make changes to the information and permissions that they set when creating the user.

Resend an Activation Email

When a new user is created, an activation email is sent to them. If you need to resend the activation email, select the green Send Activation button.

   

Deactivating a User

To deactivate a user, select the green Deactivate User button within the User Information page.


 

Note: All files associated with this user will NOT be deleted and are still viewable by administrators. Yet the deactivated user can no longer log into the account.

 

Once a user has been deactivated they can then either be reactivated or deleted from the account completely. Reactivating the user allows the user to regain access to the account and all of their submitted documents and folders. To activate a user who has been deactivated, select the Activate User button.


Deleting a User

Within the User Information page, select the red Delete User button to permanently delete this user from the account.

 

 

Warning: Once a user has been deleted all documents submitted by the user will no longer be accessible by the administrator or by shared users.

 

If a user is accidentally deleted, it can be undone by clicking on the undo link that appears in the banner beneath the top menu. If the user navigates away from the page, the action cannot be undone.


 

Searching for a User

If an account has many users it may be quicker to search for a specific user using the search bar. To find a user within the user list, enter the user’s name into the search field and select the Search button.


Groups Tab

The Groups tab allows the administrator of the account to create reporting groups and add users to the groups from their user profile. This feature allows you to group users and track the usage statistics of these users within their group.

 

To add a new group, enter a name for the new group in the Add New Group field and select the Add Report Group button.


 

Once a group has been created, you can start adding users to the group. Within the user’s profile, use the Reporting Group drop-down menu to select which group you want to place the user in. 

 

 

If you would like to delete a reporting group from your account, simply click on the red x icon to the right of the group name. A prompt will open asking you if you want to remove the group, select OK to delete the group.


 

 

To change the name of a group, select the group’s name. Within the Update Group Name field change the group’s name and select the Update Group Name button to save the new group name.


Reports Tab

The Reports content tab contains statistics for the overall account, reporting groups, and for the individual users of the account. The Usage Reports page keeps track of document submissions made by users in reporting groups and the accumulated page count for all submissions within each group and for the entire account. There are three tabs within the Reports tab in which to view usage statistics: By User/Group, By Month, and Set Date Range. These options help an administrator search for specific or general usage statistics.


 

Click on a group name to view more detailed usage statistics for the users in that group. To get the Individual Usage Report click on a user’s name within a group to open a page that displays document submissions and page count per month and a total of all submissions made by this user.


 

The account administrator can also view the Company Usage Report by selecting the account name in golden text. The Company Usage Report displays a month by month usage report of all the submissions by the account users. You can also click on the By Month tab to access the month by month account usage report.

 

To view the account usage for a specific date range, select the change link next to the dates.

 

Enter a date in the date fields (the format is yyyy-mm-dd) or select the calendar icon to select a date. Once the start and due dates have been selected, select the Update Date Range button.


Sharing Tab

 

The Sharing content tab contains three different types of sharing enabled for your account:

  • View only folders shared by other users,
  • View ALL users’ folders, and; 
  • View folders of selected users.

The default is View only folders shared by other users. To change the sharing type for the account, select the check-box next to the sharing type and select the Update Sharing button.

 

 

If the View folders of selected users option has been selected, the account administrator must first select which user’s folders will be shared within the account. To select a user, select the check-box next to their name. This user’s folders will now be shared within the account. To apply the changes made, select the Update Sharingbutton.

 

 

Note: You can enable/disable the ability of a non-administrator user to share folders, for more information please click here.

Email Tab

 

Administrators can add a customized message to the welcome email that is sent to new users added to the account. To add a message to the welcome email, navigate to the Email tab.

 

 

To change the email subject, type in your desired subject in the Custom Email Subject field. To add a custom message, type the message into the Custom Message text box.


 

Select the Set Custom Message button to save any changes.


 

After selecting the Set Custom Message button the Example "Welcome" Email Message will update with the text changes, providing a preview of the welcome email.

 

 

Please note, the customized message will not replace the automated email. It will be prefixed to the automated email. The text of the automated email cannot be changed, as it contains important information pertaining to your account.

 

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
08:58, 11 May 2017

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

(not set)