LMS course copy recommendations for Feedback Studio in Blackboard LTI 1.3

In this guide:

Depending on your course setup, it may be easier to use our Assignment Copy tool workflow instead.

While there are many ways to copy course content in Blackboard Learn, Turnitin recommends and supports the following workflows posted here.

Copying LTI 1.3 assignments from Original view courses to other Original view courses

Please refer to Blackboard's Copy Courses guidance.

It is important to note that existing Basic and Direct assignments cannot be “converted” to LTI 1.3 assignments when copied into a new course. They will have to be recreated. For assistance on creating an LTI 1.3 assignment, please refer to Creating an assignment in Blackboard. It is also recommended that you delete the copied Basic or Direct assignments from the Content area to avoid confusion.

For Original view courses, either instructors or admins can copy LTI 1.3 assignments from one course to another using Course Copy under Packages and Utilities (copying to new course, existing course, or duplicating an existing course).

Blackboard_CC_OriginalHome.png

For existing LTI 1.3 assignments that are copied into another Original course:

  • Use the Blackboard Learn assignment settings to change the name of the assignment, points possible (which will also update in the Turnitin assignment inbox), visibility to students, due date, directions and any date or time restrictions as needed.Blackboard_CC_EditWebLink.png
  • Use the Turnitin assignment settings to change the Max Grade (which will update in the Grade Center), Feedback Release Date, any optional settings, and check the box to enable PeerMark as needed. Please note that LTI 1.3 assignments that previously had PeerMark enabled will not have PeerMark enabled when copied. It will need to be enabled again manually.Blackboard_CC_EditAssignmentTii.png

If you renamed your assignment and it does not update in the Grade Center, select on the assignment name and then select the gear symbol in Turnitin inbox then select submit. This will update the name in the gradebook.

Blackboard_CC_EditAssignmentTii2.png

Alternatively, you can manually update the name by editing the column information in the gradebook.

Blackboard_CC_EditColumn.png

LTI 1.3 assignments that are deleted in Content in the new course will still have the grade column in the gradebook. You can manually delete that column, if desired. If there is a grade column for copied Direct or Basic assignments still in your gradebook that you cannot delete, please contact Anthology Support for removal.

Copying LTI 1.3 assignments from Ultra view courses to other Ultra view courses

We recommend that you export your course content and then import course your content to your new course.

Instructors and administrators can export course content in their past classes by following the instructions below:

  1. Select the three-dots menu on the Content page and choose Export Course Package. Blackboard_CC_ExportCoursePackage.png
  2. Select Course Export Packages from the sidebar that appears. In the dialog that appears, choose not to include student activity data. When the package is ready (which can take several minutes), download it to your desktop by selecting the file name. It will download as a zip file.Blackboard_CC_ExportArchiveCourse.png
  3. Go into the new Ultra view course and select the same three-dots menu and choose Import Content.Blackboard_CC_ImportContentMenu.png
  4. Under Your Content, choose Import Course Content. Blackboard_CC_ImportContent.png
  5. After a few minutes, all of your course content will be visible.

To adjust the assignment details such as dates, name, point value:

  1. Select the three-dots menu for the assignment and choose Edit.Blackboard_CC_EditMenu.png
  2. From the side panel, you can make those adjustments.Blackboard_CC_EditMenuFull.png
  3. When you are done, select Save.

To adjust the Turnitin settings:

  1. Select the assignment name and the Assignment Inbox will launch.
  2. Select the gear icon in the upper right to make additional adjustments.Blackboard_CC_AssignmentSettingsGear.png

Please note that LTI 1.3 assignments that previously had PeerMark enabled will not have PeerMark enabled when copied. PeerMark will need to be enabled again manually.

LTI 1.3 assignments that are deleted in Content in the new course will still have the grade column in the gradebook. If desired, you may manually delete that column.

Copying content from Original view courses to Ultra view courses

If instructors or admins try to copy LTI 1.3 assignments from an Original view course to an Ultra view course using Course Copy under Packages and Utilities (copying to a new course, existing course or duplicating an existing course), the resulting LTI 1.3 assignments will show in a folder.

In addition, if instructors or admins try to export and import content which contains LTI 1.3 assignments from one Original view course to an Ultra view course, the resulting LTI 1.3 assignments will also show in a folder.

Blackboard_CC_ShowAsFolder.png

We are working with Anthology currently to make this process much easier for the instructors to copy their own LTI 1.3 assignments from one course to another, without Turnitin assignments copying over in a folder. Until this work is done, instructors moving from using LTI 1.3 assignments in Original view course to using them in Ultra view course unfortunately will need to recreate the LTI 1.3 assignments in their Ultra course for now.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more