Configuring the paper lookup tool in Blackboard LTI 1.3

In this guide:

The paper lookup tool can be used to retrieve reports about previously submitted papers and to download the original paper. To learn more about this tool’s functionality, see our paper lookup tool guidance.

In order to make the paper lookup tool available to instructors, you must follow the instructions in the Resyncing your placements section.

What you need to know

  • This tool will provide reports and original files for students dropped from the course and those made inactive in a course. However, it will not provide reports for student submissions that the instructor removed from the inbox. In this case, it will only provide the original file.
  • For institutions that allow access for Blackboard admins to use the "Login As" option, this option can be leveraged for admins to access past student submissions and associated reports made to a specific instructor’s course.
  • If an institution wants to test this tool in a test/staging environment and has the LTI 1.3 integration already installed in that environment, admins can simply resync the placements and the tool will be available there. If an institution does not have the LTI 1.3 integration set up in test/staging yet, admins can set up LTI 1.3 (on a different Turnitin account than their production environment) and the tool will be available there for testing.

Resyncing your placements

  1. In Blackboard, go into the Administrator Panel, find the Integrations section and select LTI Tool Providers.
  2. Locate your Turnitin tool and select the downward arrow to expand the context menu. Select the Manage Placements option.
  3. On the top right of the page, select the Synchronize Placements link.

If instructors cannot see the tool after performing these steps or you receive a redirect error, you may need to follow the steps below to troubleshoot by redeploying your LTI registration.

Troubleshooting the paper lookup tool

  1. In Blackboard, go into the Administrator Panel, find the Integrations section and select LTI Tool Providers.
  2. Check the client ID associated with your existing Turnitin Feedback Studio LTI 1.3 registration. Locate your Turnitin tool and select the downward arrow to expand the context menu. Select the Edit option.
    Blackboard_Ultra_TurnitinTool.png
    Blackboard_Ultra_TurnitinToolMenu.png
    1. You will see one of the following:
      1. Global client ID: 907b10a5-fbbe-4811-adbf-8ac3a40a2b34
      2. UK client ID: 39739bb5-c79e-437c-ab88-6b23b01dc095
        Blackboard_Ultra_ToolStatus.png
    2. Choose the option to Register LTI 1.3/Advantage Tool and re-enter the same client ID to update your existing integration. This will refresh your current registration to ensure that it has the most recent updates.


      If when re-registering you see an error that looks similar to the image below...

      Check if a registration named lti.int.turnitin.com exists:

      If this registration is found within the list:
      1. You will need to delete this registration to complete the set-up of the new integration. Make sure to only delete the registration named lti.int.turnitin.com. Do not delete the registration named Turnitin Feedback Studio.
      2. Following the deletion of the lti.int.turnitin.com registration, you will need to complete the process of re-registration again, as described in the section above.

        This is an issue for institutions with older LTI 1.3 registrations that have not been recently updated to include an additional new domain lti.int.turnitin.com. For this reason a fake registration lti.int.turnitin.com might be created within the list of LTI Tool Providers in Blackboard Learn due to some of the recent additions to the Turnitin Feedback Studio LTI 1.3 external tool, such as the Assignment Copy tool. When using the Assignment Copy tool Blackboard Learn would be looking to associate the assignments with the new domain that does not exist, and rather than erroring out, a fake lti.int.turnitin.com registration is automatically created.
      3. Following the re-registration of the LTI Tool, go to the Manage Placements for the registration and select Synchronize Placements. This should bring through the new Asset Processor placement.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section