Managing a class

Copying a class

Turnitin allows instructors to easily copy classes for reuse in another semester or year. When a class is copied the instructor is prompted to enter a new class name, enrollment key, and the start date for the first assignment in the class. The remaining assignment and discussion dates for the class will automatically be set based on the start date you set for this assignment.

You can only copy primary classes. You are unable to copy a master class.

  1. Select the copy icon in the Copy column of the class you would like to copy.
  2. On the next screen, edit the following information:
    • class name
    • enrollment key
  3. Select the start date and time for the first assignment for the class.
  4. Select Save to copy the class or Cancel to cancel the process.
  5. You will then be directed to the copied class' page, where you can review the dates for the assignments in the copied class. Edit any assignment dates by selecting the More actions link to the right of the assignment, and then select Edit settings from the dropdown menu.

Extending a class

When you first create a class, you set an end date to help you manage school years and ensure that previous cohorts are archived. However, sometimes you may want to extend a class to keep it active beyond the dates you had initially envisaged.

  1. Select the cog icon in the Edit column of the class you'd like to extend.
  2. Change the class end date to your new one.
  3. Select the Submit button.

Expiring a class

If instructors do not expire outdated classes, students from a previous term will continue to be counted towards your student limit. Creating new classes each term ensures that inactive students are not counted against your student limit.

While it isn't possible to immediately expire a class, you can make a class inactive in the near future to essentially achieve this.

  1. Select the cog icon in the Edit column of the class in you'd like to expire.
  2. Change the class end date to a near future date (i.e. tomorrow's date).
  3. Select the Submit button.

Viewing expired classes

Every class created on Turnitin has an end date. When the end date is reached, the class expires and is limited to read-only access and will no longer appear on the active classes list. The students and instructor will no longer be able to submit papers or peer reviews, create assignments, or mark any of the papers using online grading.

On the Turnitin instructor homepage, the All Classes tab will list both active and expired classes. To view expired classes only, select the Expired Classes tab.

Reactivating an expired class

An expired class can be reactivated by modifying the class end date.

  1. Select the cog icon in the Edit column of the class in you'd like to reactivate.
  2. Change the class end date to a future date.
  3. Select the Submit button to reactivate the class.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section