Managing instructors and TAs

In this guide:

  1. Adding individual instructors and TAs
  2. Adding multiple instructors and TAs
  3. Resending account invitation emails
  4. Removing instructors and TAs
  5. Locking instructors and TAs

Adding instructors or TAs to an account

Instructors and teaching assistants (TAs) can be added individually to an account, or uploaded in bulk. 

Teaching assistants need to be added to an account as an instructor before an instructor can assign them to a master class. To learn how to add a TA to a master class, check out our guidance. 

Individual 

To add an instructor, there are three required pieces of information you must supply:

  • first name

  • last name

  • email address

  1. From the administrator homepage, select the Instructors tab.

  2. Select the Add Instructor button, which is the rightmost button located above the instructor list.

  3. Enter the first name, last name, and email address.

  4. Select the Submit button to add the instructor to your institution's account.

Multiple

Multiple instructors can be added to an account at once by submitting a list of instructors in a Microsoft Excel™ file. In Excel, separate the first name, surname and email address into different cells in a column:

A maximum of 100 instructors can be added at once. Lists over 100 will be fail to upload. 

  1. From the instructors list page select the Upload List button.
  2. Select the browse button and locate the file containing the list of instructors’ first names, last names, and e-mail addresses. Only .xls and .csv file formats are supported.

     

  3. Select Submit to upload the list.
  4. Once the upload is completed the list will be displayed for your approval.
  5. To approve and add the listed instructors to the account, select Yes, submit.
  6. The final screen will display the newly added instructors.
  7. To return to the instructor list page select the Return to instructors button.

The newly added instructors will now show up on the instructor list page for this account. After the instructors have been added they can log in and begin using Turnitin.

Resending account invitation emails

When an instructor is added to a new account, a confirmation email is sent to the email address used to create their account. The email sent to new instructors will depend on their account history. 

  • New Turnitin users - an email for account creation
  • Existing Turnitin users - an email notification of access to a new account

If an instructor has never logged into Turnitin or did not have a pre-existing profile, the joined date will be highlighted in pink. Once a user has created their account and logged in for the first time the highlight will disappear.

Users should ensure emails from noreply@turnitin.com and tiisupport@turnitin.com are not blocked by any spam filters or email settings on their email service. 

If the invitation email expired or was sent to the wrong email, it can be resent by: 

  1. Select the pink highlighted date to the left of their name.
  2. In the form that opens, make any needed corrections to the email address, first name, or last name.
  3. Select the submit button once the changes are made, in order to send a new copy of the invitation email.

Removing instructors

Dropping an instructor will not delete their user profile, but it will remove their access to the institutional account, and any classes or assignments they have created. Dropped instructors no longer have access to classes, papers, or any other Turnitin services from the account they have been dropped from. An instructor can only be dropped by the account administrator.

  1. Select the Instructors icon to the right of your account name on the administrator homepage.
  2. From the instructors list page, click on the trash can icon to the right of the instructor's email address under the drop column.
  3. A pop-up approval window will appear asking if you're sure you'd like to drop the instructor. Select OK after confirming the instructor's name is correct for the instructor to be dropped

The instructor will be removed from your instructors list and the instructor will no longer be able to access the institutional account that their profile was dropped from.

Re-adding the instructor using the same email address will return all of their classes and assignments unless they were manually deleted before being dropped. 

Locking instructors

Locking an instructor will restrict their account to view-only. They will have access to their classes and assignments, but will be unable to edit or add more to the account. 

  1. To lock an instructor, click on the green lock icon between the joined date column and the instructor name column on the instructor list page.
  2. A warning notice will appear, asking you to confirm that you wish to lock this instructor. Select OK to accept the change.
  3. A locked instructor is indicated by a red lock icon. Instructors can be unlocked by selecting the red lock icon.
  4. To unlock an instructor, select the lock icon which will turn it from red back to green.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more